Announcement of the Shortlist for 2018 Klaus Flugge Prize

The shortlist for the 2018 Klaus Flugge Prize will be announced live at a special event at Foyles Charing Cross Road on the evening of Wednesday 16 May. Established in 2016, the Klaus Flugge Prize is awarded to the most promising and exciting newcomer to children’s book illustration. It honours publisher Klaus Flugge, founder of children’s publisher Andersen Press and a supremely influential figure in picture books.

In advance of the announcement, Klaus Flugge Prize chair of judges Julia Eccleshare will discuss the art of picture book illustration with UK Children’s Laureate and Klaus Flugge Prize judge Lauren Child.

Klaus Flugge himself will be a special guest at the event.

All of the Klaus Flugge Prize longlisted illustrators and their editors have been invited to attend.

Doors will open at 6.30pm for a 7.00pm start and the event will conclude at 8.00pm. This is a ticketed event and tickets cost £8 or £5 for Foyalty members and students. A glass of wine is included in the cost of the ticket. The venue is The Auditorium at Foyles, Level 6, 107 Charing Cross Road.

There are fifteen books on the Klaus Flugge Prize longlist. They are:

Jabari Jumps, Gaia Cornwall, editor Katie Cunningham, art editor Deirdre McDermott (Walker)
Leaf, Sandra Dieckmann, editor Harriet Birkinshaw, art editor Camille Pichon (Flying Eye)
Cranky Caterpillar, Richard Graham, edited by Roger Thorp and Anna Ridley (Thames & Hudson)
Beyond the Fence, Maria Gulemetova, editor Sue Baker, art editor, Annie Kubler (Child’s Play)
Woolf, Patrick Latimer, written by Alex Latimer, editor Neil Dunnicliffe, art editor Lee-May Lim (Pavilion)
The Night Box, Ashling Lindsay, written by Louise Greig, editor Melissa Fairley, art editor Tiffany Leeson (Egmont)
My Name is Not Refugee, Kate Milner, editor Emma Hargrave, art editor Julie-Ann Murray (Barrington Stoke)
Curiosity: The Story of a Mars Rover, Markus Motum, editor Denise Johnstone-Burt, art editor Louise Jackson (Walker Studio)
Hortense and the Shadow, Lauren O’Hara, written by Natalia O’Hara, editor by Andrea MacDonald, art editor Anna Billson (Puffin)
The Real Boat, Victoria Semykina, written by Marina Aromshtam, editor Katie Howarth, art editor Genevieve Webster (Templar)
Fergal is Fuming, Robert Starling, editor Libby Hamilton, art editor Rebecca Garill (Andersen Press)
Big Hid, Roisin Swales, editor Harriet Birkinshaw, art editor Camille Pichon (Flying Eye)
Magnificent Birds, Narisa Togo, editor Alice Primmer, art editor Charlie Moyler (Walker Studio)
Big Box, Little Box, Edward Underwood, editor Emma Blackburn (Bloomsbury)
Dino, Diego Vaisberg, editor Carly Blake, art editor Genevieve Webster (Templar)

The judges for the 2018 Klaus Flugge Prize are Lauren Child, Charlotte Colwill, Goldy Broad and Francesca Sanna.

Comments are closed.