Children’s Book Award 2018

The Children’s Book Award is the only national award for children’s books that is voted for entirely by children. It is owned and co-ordinated by the Federation of Children’s Book Groups and is highly respected by teachers, parents and librarians.

Children who are part of the nationwide network of the FCBG across the country have been reviewing and rating books from more than 110 publishing imprints! Our testing groups 2017 are: NW London, Harrogate, Herts, Southampton, Plymouth, Lincs, Dundee, West Wales, Solihull, Oxted, Ipswich and Reading.

Any child across the UK is eligible to vote.

We are delighted to announce that the Children’s Book Award is sponsored for 2018 by BookLife Publishing.

Follow the Children’s Book Award 2018 on @CBACoordinator #FCBGCBA18 and vote online at

After counting our 93,000 votes we can announce our exciting Top Ten shortlist for the 2018 Children’s Book Award – the only book award voted for entirely by children.  This year we cover a thrilling range of books, from the wacky to the thought-provoking, from the beautifully illustrated to the wonderfully crafted, from picture books to share with toddlers to novels exploring issues such as leprosy, from reality to fantasy…there is something for all ages this year.

ANY child in the UK can vote for their favourite in the Top Ten. All they need to do is read the books, decide the order from 1 to 4 in the Younger Children’s Category and 1 to 3 in the Younger and Older Readers Categories and vote through their children’s book group or online.


The Top Ten shortlist for 2018 is:

Books for Younger Children

Edgar and the Sausage Inspector, written and illustrated by Jan Fearnley, published by Nosy Crow





Mrs Mole, I’m Home!, written and illustrated by Jarvis, published by Walker




The Secret of Black Rock, written and illustrated by Joe Todd-Stanton, published by Flying Eye Books





I Dare You, written and illustrated by Reece Wykes, published by Andersen Press




Books for Younger Readers

The Goldfish Boy, written by Lisa Thompson, published by Scholastic






The Explorer, written by Katherine Rundell, published by Bloomsbury






The Island at the End of Everything, written by Kiran Millwood Hargrave, published by Chicken House






Books for Older Readers

Ink, written by Alice Broadway, published by Scholastic  






I Have No Secrets, written by Penny Joelson, published by Electric Monkey (Egmont)






Optimists Die First, written by Susin Nielsen, published by Andersen Press






Who will win? Last year’s children’s choice was An Eagle in the Snow by Michael Morpurgo and illustrated by Michael Foreman. Who will be the children’s choice for 2018?

Children nationwide are now invited to vote for their favourite of the ten shortlisted books. The deadline for online voting is 12.00 Friday 18th May.  The category winners and the author of the best children’s book published in the 2017 nomination period will be announced at a glittering awards ceremony which takes place in Central London Saturday 9th June 2018.