SLA School Librarian of the Year Award 2015

Announcement of the Honour List

The SLA School Librarian of the Year Award is the School Library Association’s prestigious honour to recognize the excellent work that is carried out in school libraries every day and highlight the best practice of those whose work is outstanding.

This year three excellent librarians from very different schools are on the Honour list for the SLA School Librarian of the Year Award 2015.

Annie Brady at St. Paul’s CBS Secondary School (, an inner city secondary school in Dublin with 250 boys on the school roll; Chris Routh at Leighton Park School (, a Quaker independent school in Reading with 440 day and boarding students aged 11 to 18 and Jane Spall at Aith Junior High School ( in Shetland with 182 students from nursery to 16 years old.

Each librarian has made a huge difference to the lives of the students and people they work with, igniting a passion for reading, setting students on a learning journey, teaching them essential skills, as well as supporting staff and reaching out to the wider community.

Their work will be celebrated at a ceremony held on Monday 5 October 2015 at the Royal Society for Arts, London. Award-winning author Kevin Brooks (Macmillan Children’s Books) will announce the SLA School Librarian of the Year 2015. The celebrations will also include the announcement of the winner of the School Library Association Inspiration Award.

Ginette Doyle, Chair of the SLA School Librarian of the Year Selection Committee, said “2015 has seen another group of excellent librarians for us to judge. All of them demonstrate best practice in their different ways. With so many school librarians under threat, it is good to see that in some areas their value is appreciated. The Honour List librarians are three remarkable women who provide the students in their school with skills that will last a lifetime.”

Three exceptional school librarians. Each committed to create book-loving schools and to help make learning a fascinating and rewarding journey. All would be worthy winners of the SLA School Librarian of the Year Award. To read their profiles visit the SLA website at In alphabetical order, the first will go live on 14 September.

Comments are closed.